Leagues II Trailblazer Areas


There's less than a month until Leagues II - Trailblazer begins on October 28th, so it's time to take a closer look at the core mechanics - Unlocking Areas. In this article we'll take a detailed look into all nine regions so you can start planning how you'll conquer Trailblazer!

But before we get started, we wanted to say a massive thank you for all of your Trailblazer feedback so far! The discussions you've had online and changes you've pitched have already had an impact on the team, and they've already started to implement some of your ideas. We'll continue to update the blog with any area changes up until launch.

Unlocking Areas

Everyone will start with access to two regions, and you'll be able to unlock three more as you progress giving you possible access to five out of the nine total areas.

You’ll start in Misthalin, as would any normal new adventurer… except, of course, this time there are some big differences.

Karamja will be unlocked by completing a tutorial. Beyond this, as you progress you'll have the option of heading to either Asgarnia, Kandarin, Morytania, The Desert, The Fremennik Provinces, Tirannwn or The Wilderness. But choose your regions carefully as you won't be able to change your mind afterwards!

You can read more about how to unlock areas in the 'Designing Leagues' section of September's Gielinor Gazette.

Starting in Misthalin

Your starting area is one familiar to all players, both old and new! It covers the entire Kingdom of Misthalin along with Fossil Island, Zanaris and the Abyss, as well as instances of underground areas contained within.

There are some restrictions, however. Access to Al-Kharid, Port Sarim, Canifis and the western exit of Barbarian Village, as well as transportation and teleportation and shortcuts, is restricted via the cunning deployment of magical barriers.

Unlocking Karamja

Throughout development we worked hard to keep areas balanced to ensure that no one unlock was more desirable than another.

An example of such balancing is Karamja. Early on, the only real rewards it offered were a way to obtain a Fire Cape, an Infernal Cape and perhaps Obsidian armour, and while the former two are prestigious items, players would almost certainly have been drawn to other items elsewhere that offered more useful PvM drops - something that would prove advantageous in the longer-term.

We didn't want to artificially inflate the number of points available in Karamja because that would have the counter effect, making it super desirable for easily obtaining points.

Ultimately the solution was to unlock it for free during the tutorial. We chose this course of action because:

  1. It resulted in an early lesson in area-unlocks for the player.
  2. The race to the first Fire/Infernal Capes will be entertaining to watch! It'll be fascinating to see which combination of other areas/Relics get players to these goals the fastest.
  3. Karamja also solves the Player Owned House issue by giving access to a PoH portal from the off.


Asgarnia is comprised of the remainder of the free-to-play world and the opening member area, along with the island of Entrana, the Pest Control islands and Troll Country. Those looking to make their way into Catherby will be met with magical barriers preventing access to the Fishing town.


The land of the Gnomes, Mourners and Ogres offers players a selection of familiar content from Seers' Village to Ape Atoll. The Nightmare Zone is restricted and players can instead obtain Nightmare Zone points by purchasing them for 1 coin apiece from Dominic Onion.


Equip your Garlic and silver if you wish to venture to Morytania. The lands east of Varrock include Mos Le'Harmless, Braindead Island, Dragontooth Island and Harmony Island. You'll also unlock full access through the Paterdomus temple.

Kharidian Desert

Don't forget your sunblock as it gets hot out in the Kharidian Desert. Unlocking this area of the map will grant you access to all parts of the desert including Pollnivneach, Sophanem, Nardah and Menaphos. Those looking to pass through Al-Kharid's gates must have unlocked this region first.

The Fremennik Provinces

The Fremennik Provinces area includes Lunar Isle and Weiss. Access to Kandarin via the bridge south of Rellekka, as will several shortcuts to bordering neighbours (unless you've unlocked them), is prevented through the use of magical barriers.


Home of the Elves, explore the lands west of Ardougne when you unlock Tirannwn. This area will also grant access to the Temple of Light and the Underground Pass. Instances of areas in Tirannwn and underground spaces with an entrance in Tirannwn will also be included.


The Wilderness is included in its entirety, although Last Man Standing will not be accessible. You'll be able to face off against Chaos Elementals, King Black Dragons, the Corporeal Beast and gain entry to Mage Arena I & II. Crossing the Wilderness Ditch or activating the lever at the Deserted Keep will require access to whichever area is on the other side of it.

Deaths will behave differently in The Wilderness when competing in the League:

  • PvP deaths will be treated like a PvM death, with your lost items moving to a gravestone and the gravestone moving to your respawn location.
  • PvM deaths are unaffected.
  • We are going to be sharing even more information over the next few weeks, so make sure you stay tuned across all our social channels, our streams and in-game.